It’s been one of those weeks where nothing has quite gone to plan, this weeks Friday Find is no exception.

I had something planned for today.  I’d scanned the images and uploaded them, I’d asked and received permission to use some photographs and got all the information ready.  Then Flickr decided that they needed to do essential maintenance and would be down until 1pm.  Usually this wouldn’t be a problem but I’m clocking off early to get ready for an exciting weekend at Ramsbottom Festival so won’t be here after 1pm.  I will confess to using a swear word…

A strange idea popped into my head.  A cunning and devious way to incorporate music and archives into a blog post, by talking about a band that is music and archives incorporated and are performing tonight at Ramsbottom Festival – Public Service Broadcasting.  To paraphrase their website PSB weave samples from old public information films, archive footage and propaganda material around live drums, guitar, banjo and electronics as they teach the lessons of the past through the music of the future.

I love the idea of taking archive footage and letting it tell the original story, but with a new twist.  It introduces the archive material to a whole new audience who might never have otherwise been interested.  This track “Spitfire” was created in collaboration with the BFI (their footage has also been used in other tracks) who, in a final twist of synchronicity, are one of our Archives+ partner organisations.

Public Service Broadcasting are touring at the moment so if tonight is too short notice you can catch them at The Ritz at the end of this month or Academy 2 in November.  You can be there and still be square.

I’m off to get my wellies and my poncho now.  Maybe I’ll see you later

