Day 4 of our posts for Refugee Week.

I came across this poster encouraging refugees to make contact with local refugee organisations. Not sure of the date but my guess would be circa 1939.

Extracts from letters of appreciation received from Refugees (Report and committee unknown- Taken from papers in our Archive collection M533/27/24) :

“I hope to go home within a few weeks’ time, my country having now been liberated. I want to take this opportunity of thanking you for all you did, not only for me but for all the refugees, and we hope to prove ourselves gratefully by singing the praises of England wherever we go, and spreading the knowledge of your langauge and your ways, thus contributing to a real understanding between the peoples.”

“Thank you ever so much for sending me the many names and addressed of institutions and clubs. They are of great help to me.”

“I can hardly say how grateful I am and how much it means to me that there are such good friends with whom I can share beautiful and lovely things.”

“Thank you so much for taking so much trouble to find friends for me and fo so many other young people in similar circumstances who may often find it very difficult to get to know English people as they really are.”